You are here


2018 Association Leadership Awards

Join CEO Update and 500 members of the association community at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington, D.C. on Sept. 20, 2018 to honor the recipients of the 2018 Association Leadership Awards:

Trade Association CEO—Dawn Sweeney, National Restaurant Association

Professional Society CEO—Abe Eshkenazi, APICS—The Association for Operations Management
Association Lobbyist—Jim Clarke, ASAE (American Society of Association Executives)

2018 ALA honorees

This one-of-a-kind event is being produced by the award-winning team at Leading Authorities, CEO Update's parent company.

Associations or nonprofits can reserve a 10-person table (individual tickets are not available) for $3,000. Last year's event sold out, so reserve your table soon.

Suppliers, vendors and for-profit companies can attend by sponsoring the Association Leadership Awards. See the complete list of available sponsorships or contact Daniel Chase by email or at (202) 416-4668.

Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
2600 Woodley Rd NW
Washington, DC  

Sept. 20, 2018
VIP Reception: 11:15 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Main Event: 12:00 to 2:00 p.m.

The Association Leadership Awards, now in its fifth year, is the culmination of an independent and rigorous process to recognize excellence in trade associations and professional societies. Nominations came to CEO 
Update from every corner of the association space in response to a widespread call for candidates. Stage ALAThe nomination process yielded highly detailed submissions, keyed to clearly defined association leadership criteria.

A slate of 21 finalists were forwarded to an independent panel, who made the final selection. The panel, selected by CEO Update, consisted of representatives from association search firms, former association CEOs and attorneys who represent associations. CEO Update appointed a knowledgeable and independent group of individuals with decades of experience in the association community to choose the winners of this award.

Ivan Adler, principal, McCormick Group, Steve Anderson, CEO, National Association of Chain Drug Stores, Cam Fine, CEO, Independent Community Bankers of America Julian Ha, practice leader, Heidrick & Struggles, Art Herold, partner, Webster, Chamberlain & Bean, Leslie Hortum, managing partner, Washington D.C., Spencer Stuart, Lorraine Lavet, sector leader, association, Korn Ferry, Steve Lieber, former CEO, HIMSS, Chris McEntee, Executive Director, American Geophysical Union, Arlene Pietranton, CEO, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, David Rehr, senior associate dean and professor of law, George Mason University, Stephanie Tomasso, association practice leader, Russell Reynolds Associates, Jade West, Senior Vice President, National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors, Jim Zaniello, president, Vetted Solutions