Skip to content

How to Attend the Association Leadership Awards

This one-of-a-kind virtual event is being produced by the award-winning team at Leading Authorities, CEO Update’s parent company.

Associations or nonprofits can attend the virtual event by contacting Daniel Chase by email or at (202) 416-4668.

Suppliers, vendors and for-profit companies can attend by sponsoring the Association Leadership Awards. View sponsorship opportunities. For additional sponsorship information, contact Daniel Chase by email or at (202) 416-4668.


September 24, 2020 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Join CEO Update and the association community on September 24, 2020, to honor the recipients of the 2020 Association Leadership Awards:


Matthew Shay

Trade Association CEO

National Retail Federation


Michelle Mason

Professional Society CEO

Association Forum


Kevin Keane

Association Lobbyist

American Beverage Association

About the Association Leadership Awards

The Association Leadership Awards, now in its seventh year, is the culmination of an independent and rigorous process to recognize excellence in trade associations and professional societies. Nominations came to CEO Update from every corner of the association space in response to a widespread call for candidates. 

The nomination process yielded highly detailed submissions, keyed to clearly defined association leadership criteria.

A slate of finalists were forwarded to an independent panel, who made the final selection. The panel, selected by CEO Update, consisted of representatives from association search firms, former association CEOs, previous honorees and attorneys who represent associations. CEO Update appointed a knowledgeable and independent group of individuals with decades of experience in the association community to choose the winners of this award.

The Selection Panel
  • Steve Anderson, CEO, National Association of Chain Drug Stores
  • Art Herold, Partner, Webster, Chamberlain & Bean
  • Leslie Hortum, Managing partner, Washington D.C., Spencer Stuart
  • Peter Larkin, President and CEO, National Grocers Association
  • Lorraine Lavet, Sector leader, association, Korn Ferry
  • Chris McEntee, Executive Director, American Geophysical Union
  • Susan Neely, CEO, American Council of Life Insurers
  • Robertson, Interim President and CEO, ASAE
  • Stephanie Tomasso, Association practice leader, Russell Reynolds Associates
  • Jade West, Senior Vice President, National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors
  • Jim Zaniello, President, Vetted Solutions